wandering in wonder

sharing, on a pilgrims journey

the winner takes it all

The temptation to react to other people can be so strong.

I am most myself when I decide to be who I am, regardless of how other people decide to be.

so when someone is mean to me, unkind, tells lies, I still decide to be who I am.

So I responded calmly. 

I do not raise my voice when they shout and wave their arms around. It’s not my way.

I challenged the lie. I state that I found a particular thing unkind.

But I don’t ‘get even’.

or maybe I do? because maybe getting even, or even winning, is not letting that person control who I am, how I behave, or who I become.

September 1, 2008 - Posted by | 'Being', balance, Challenge, courage, Hold on, Life, Never give up, People, tough times, voice of hope | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment